Saturday, September 13, 2008

Okkervil River - The Stand Ins CD Review

Okkervil River has a new cd out this week. It was originally meant to be the second half of a double cd with The Stage Names but it ended up being the 5th album that they produced.

They are a Indie band out of Austin, TX starting some 10 years ago. They have a pretty cool sound to their music, mixing acoustic guitar and piano along with electric instruments on some songs. It's really hard to describe who they sound like. They do really mix it up on this cd.

This is a band a friend introduced me to about two years back and I have really liked what I've heard. They mix up some Mandoline with bass, drums and guitar.

This cd consists of 8 new songs with 3 instrumental "Stand Ins" as well. I can't complain about any of them, it's a really good sound.

To sample some of their music stop by their web site at or go to their MySpace page at


Track List:

1. Stand Ins, One
2. Lost Coastlines
3. Singer Songwriter
4. Starry Stairs
5. Blue Tulip
6. Stand Ins, Two
7. Pop Lie
8. On Tour With Zykos
9. Calling And Not Calling My Ex
10. Stand Ins, Three
11. Bruce Wayne Campbell Interviewed On The Roof Of The Chelsea Hotel, 1979

No comments: