Monday, June 02, 2008

Old 97's - Blame It On Gravity - CD Review

Blame It On Gravity is the first album in four years for The Old 97's and the seventh in a fifteen year career span. This Dallas based Alt-Country band has gone back to the roots on some of these songs. It's a really good mix of rock, punk, pop and alt-country throughout the album.
Produced by Dallas musucian and friend of the band Salim Nourallah, you can tell the care he took working with them to get the sweetness out of them. They really give a good mix of music on this album. It's quite an enjoyable album to listen to.
The band, still comprised of original members Rhett Miller, Murry Hammond, Ken Bethea and Philip Peeples. Even though Rhett has successfully gone out and done some work on his own, it really is great to have the band back together creating some amazing pieces of work.
If you get a chance pick up the CD/DVD combo version. It has a 44 min documentary of the band with some classic live material and well as focus on the new CD.

Track Listing:

1. The Fool
2. Dance With Me
3. No Baby I
4. My Two Feet
5. Ride
6. She Loves The Sunset
7. This Beautiful Thing
8. I Will Remain
9. Early Morning
10. The Easy Way
11. Here s To The Halcyon
12. Color Of A Lonely Heart Is Blue
13. The One

I've been listening to this one non-stop since the day it came out and it just keeps getting better. Be sure to go out and support the band and see them on their summer tour and check out their website for more information at

No comments: